BBS > Community Superblog
All | Following | GIFs | Off-site

Despite experience programming for over a decade, this is my first real completed game, ever. I did it basically just as a learning project before tackling something bigger in PICO-8. It's a very simple top-down shooter involving what looks to be robots. Enemies spawn faster and faster, and have random health. The gimmick (and thing that made implementation easier) is that you can only shoot while moving unless you're pushing against a rock. See how high of a score you can get! I got to 47. If an enemy touches you its game over.

Cart #fedofawahe-0 | 2019-01-18 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

3 comments

I watched @zep talk about PICO-8 and cozy design spaces again today, and it really resonates with me. I work as a developer, and I really hate all the cruft we have to deal with. Like the web! God, I hate the web and what it has turned into.

I really like stuff like Zen of Python, programming aphorisms, principles like DRY, POLA, KISS, etc. I watched through the video and tried to write down some nuggets of wisdom. Apologies to @zep if he feels misrepresented in any of these quotes.

Manifesto

• Small things matter
  • Discard and move on (the "license to abandon")
  • Inhabit boundaries
  • Follow a new path
  • Ignore the real world
  • Work in a cosy place

The Zen of PICO-8

• When you type cls() you're not just clearing the screen, you're clearing your mind and your soul, preparing for something new.
  • You're among friends.
  • Value design over content.

[ Continue Reading.. ]

9 comments

Cart #breakoutjbh-0 | 2019-01-17 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

2 comments

It's VERY much a work in progress still, and there's a lot I have to do with it. Still, I hope you guys like it!

0 comments

Cart #gotchimiya-0 | 2019-01-16 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

5 comments

Cart #dollarone_thelichruin-0 | 2019-01-17 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA