BBS > Community Superblog
All | Following | GIFs | Off-site

hi all,

i'm new to pico8 and coding largely, and i'd appreciate some help. i'm working on a super simple file just to familiarize myself with different aspects of what i'd like to eventually make for real.

what i'm trying to do is cause a specific set of sprites to animate whenever the player presses btn(4).

so far, i've got it set up so that when the player presses z, the function draw_attack() is called (below).

the problem i'm running into is that the animation ceases after one frame. i have no idea why. here's my code that seems to be the problem:

function draw_attack()
	if player.flip then
		spr(atkanim.spr,player.x-6,player.y)
		for i=0,3 do
			if atkanim.spr<=52 then
				atkanim.spr+=0.5
				sfx(0)
			else
				atkanim.spr=48
			end
		end
	else
		spr(48,player.x+6,player.y)
		sfx(0)
	end
end

what i would expect to happen with this when the function is called: the sprites are drawn in sequence based on the for loop.

[ Continue Reading.. ]

1 comment

I'm using the code below, but it's quite a lot of tokens when converted to Lua. Does anyone have a more compact routine for use with Pico-8?

http://www.jeffreythompson.org/collision-detection/line-rect.php

14 comments

Cart #ananas-1 | 2020-08-06 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

hello world 🐳

ananas is our first pico-8 cartridge 💙 it's a small game where you follow the ancient ways of mother nature from the roof of your urban apartment.

we (studio ld <3) made it for the jamuslala (a jam by make games jlm + muslala)

code & game design: idan kimel 🥑
art & music+sfx & code & game design: rona manor 🌾
opening theme melody: yaeli greenblatt 🐈

[ Continue Reading.. ]

2 comments

Cart #wadingan-0 | 2020-08-06 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

test water effect, use arrow to mess with speed\amp of effect and press z to change modes

0 comments

This is a simple Pico-8 slideshow cart project.