BBS > Community Superblog
All | Following | GIFs | Off-site

Cart #picoroid-1 | 2022-10-22 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Hello everyone!

I'm fairly new to PICO-8, so I figured trying to port a game might help me get used to PICO-8. I decided to start with Asteroids, figuring it would be a fairly simple port. It was actually more complex than I thought. I think I've managed to replicate the feel of the original game, but I wouldn't be surprised if I've missed a thing or two - I was never the best at this game.

Feedback would be appreciated,
Thank you!

1 comment

Cart #slipping_hazard-0 | 2022-10-19 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

0 comments

Cart #nawefibuwa-7 | 2022-10-25 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Just finished my first PICO-8 game! :D

It's an absolute mess - but that's to be expected, I guess.

I would appreciate any feedback on it - I'll probably update it soon if anything is terribly wrong with it.

TODO:

• Nothing, right now!

DONE:

• Made the lines more readable!
  • More fill patterns, circles and lines now fade out smoothly
  • Removed "lines" from the sidebar, as it wasn't very useful
  • Palette names are now centred and labelled
  • Lives counter no longer goes weird on the gameover screen
  • Circles are now more likely to spawn nearby you, making it harder to just stand still

http://8x8.me/ was very useful

6 comments

Hello.

Something good game programming languages have had for a long time is called "Virtual resolution."

For instance with Pico-8 you could have this sprite:

[8x8]

And then this code:

cls()
setvirtualresolution(16,16)
for i=0,3 do
  for j=0,3 do
    spr(1,j,i)
  end
end

And you would get a perfect set of blocks 4x4 at 8x8-pixels each. No need to multiply by 8 each time.

[32x32]

[ Continue Reading.. ]

4 comments

Hone your cart hacking abilities with this HackTheBox like cart!
Your objective is to get the admin password using the terminal.