BBS > Community Superblog
All | Following | GIFs | Off-site

Cart #red_dead_remdemption_3-1 | 2022-05-14 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

0 comments

Hello!

I have had PICO-8 a while, but never really used it until I watched aarthificial's YouTube video about pixel art. I wanted to try around with a bit of pixel art myself, so I did my 16x8 sized version of the heroine in the sprite editor. Then I remembered playing "Bionic Commando" on my friend's Amiga as a kid, and a long love of Portal means that I started work on this game over the last few evenings.

The basic functionality is all there (running, collision, hooking, pulling, switches, pressure pads, launchers) and I've had a go with music and graphics, but I'm no level designer, it turns out! So this is a work-in-progress job to get feedback on those core mechanics, and ideas for how to extend the game out!

Cart #wmerrifield_hookshot_1-0 | 2022-05-13 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

[ Continue Reading.. ]

13 comments

Cart #snake_0-1 | 2022-05-21 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

I ripped off the Google Snake game to see if I could. Don't worry, I have bigger plans for this.

Controls

⬆️⬇️⬅️➡️ : turn
🅾️/z : retry
❎/x : ???

Versions

Version 1:

• added visual effects (particles, screen shake, etc.)
  • scoreboard now moves so that it never hides the apple or the snake's head
  • scoreboard now shows high score
  • pressing ❎ in the menu now does something...
2 comments

I put a completely unscientific research poll up on Twitter asking folks where they usually play PICO-8 games and the majority said they primarily play using the desktop client.

• Desktop App: 56.7%
  • Desktop web browser: 23.3%
  • Phone web browser: 16.7%
  • Handheld App (non-phone): 3.3%

See the Twitter poll