BBS > Community Superblog
All | Following | GIFs | Off-site

Cart #iwilllaseryou-1 | 2021-12-01 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

Cart #iwilllaseryou-0 | 2021-12-01 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

Cart #iwilllasereyeyou-3 | 2021-12-01 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

Cart #iwilllasereyeyou-2 | 2021-12-01 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

[ Continue Reading.. ]

1 comment

I'm brand new to making music and I'm interested in hearing about how different people approach composing for their games. Not in terms of using the music editor—I'm fine with that—but more about your process/workflow for creating the music itself. You can assume that I understand about scales/modes, keys, chords, chord progressions, etc. and feel free to sling around jargon/technical terms if you want I can always go look up anything I don't understand.

I realize that everybody goes about things their own way; I'm not looking for a "right" way to make music, more just interested in peeking into people's brains while I try to figure out my own way of doing it.

The kinds of things I'm interested in (not an exhaustive list!):

1. How do you start? With the main melody? With a beat? Chords? Something else? Do you always start the same way or does it depend? On what?
  2. Do you create your music from scratch directly in the PICO-8 music editor or do you use something else, like a DAW and then "translate" the music over into PICO-8?

[ Continue Reading.. ]

23 comments

NOTE:This game was for a game jam, and due to time crunch I couldn't finish it all the way, but atleast there's a playable state.

Cart #the30mpoundsofsoft-1 | 2021-12-16 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Description

You're a dog, trying to get a lot of trash out of the ocean.

Controls

Swim

Use ⬅➡⬆⬇ or the arrow keys to move around.

Thrust

Use 🅾 or Z to use your stamina and thrust.

Credits

@Gabe_8_bit Music and background animation

3 comments