BBS > Community Superblog
All | Following | GIFs | Off-site

Hi all, just thought I would introduce myself.

I am 39 year old who grew up in the heady times of the C64 and Amiga. Basically that whole home computer boom. I am studying mathematics part time and have been using Python to do some maths based projects with.

recently I decided to get back into game dev as a hobby like I did with the C64 in BASIC and on Amiga with AMOS. It's been a learning experience bringing myself back into it all again. Especially with having to knock my brain into learning to state machines properly without the help of an engine like GMS2 doing the heavy lifting.

Anyway, just wanted to say I am enjoying my experiences so far with Pico-8. Had it a while and not really done anything with it. That is changing though. So I will be coming looking for advice.

Beta

1 comment

Cart #awake_final-0 | 2021-09-02 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

42 comments

Cart #granddad-0 | 2021-09-02 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

1 comment

Cart #onek_frisbee-4 | 2021-09-01 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

https://itch.io/jam/pico-1k

Play a very tiny game of 2v2 ultimate frisbee. Post your high scores (mine is only 9 😜). Happy gaming and happy 1k jam 2021 - check the link on itch.io :)

484 tokens / 1023 chars / 3% cart space / 1038 bytes lua / 65 lines

(Press X to reset)​

0 comments

I've noticed that when I try to build a makefile for multicarts that calling export from the command line of my host machine doesn't respect root_path.

For example:

pico8 -root_path ./ -export mygame.html title.p8 intro.p8 mygame.p8

produces an html export that only gets title.p8 but neither of intro or mygame carts if the root path isn't already the pico-8 cartridge directory.

Does anybody know of a workaround short of actually changing the pico-8 system config for each new directory?

1 comment