BBS > Community Superblog
All | Following | GIFs | Off-site

Ok, so I want to make a celeste mod but I dont know how, I tried using the Education Edition but it didnt save my progress and files are confusing. Where should I go to learn how to make a mod. FYI I am working on a school issued chromebook because I am still a highschool student, should I instead start working on my macbook at home?

any help is appreciated
Thank you :D

6 comments

Cart #diving2022-0 | 2022-04-21 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

Hi all,
I'm new to pico-8 and enjoying the constraints. I'm trying to create a diving game inspired by the old Daily Thompson's supertest game on the Amstrad. I have my scene with jumping working but I'm having issues rotating the sprite once you press left or right. I'm trying to use @freds72 rotation code and something is obviously rotating but I don't understand the parameters of the function. Is this correct?

--sx = x location of sprite on spritesheet
--sy = y location of sprite on spritesheet
--x = is this for the rotation area?
--y = is this for the rotation area?
a = angle of rotation
w = width of sprite (although mine is rectangular)
rspr(sx,sy,x,y,a,w)

Once I've got rotation sorted. I'm going to figure out number of turns and angle of the divers head relative to the water, so I can get the judges scoring in. I think my next big challenge will probably be getting the board to bend when hit.

Thanks for taking a look. Hopefully I can release something more playable soon.

2 comments

Hi,

I'm heavily using .p8 files as headless scripts to automate my export pipeline. It's great, as all commands are available and when running headlessly, you can even save/load which fail in normal GUI mode.

However, I noticed that errors are completely silent (unlike GUI mode, which shows error messages). How can I catch PICO-8 errors from within the .p8 script or, as last resort, from the bash script I'm using to pico8 -x the .p8 script?