Hi all,

I'm just getting into Picotron, but have dabbled with PICO-8 for a long time.

Given the way /ram/carts main.lua works, what is your initial directory structure like and how are you doing source control (git, github, gitlab, codeberg, etc)?

Are you mostly using the Picotron or have you switched to a parent OS IDE like VSC or NeoVim?

THX1138 in advance, Pond.

(PS - here is a screenshot from what I'm working on, PacHac, a Pac-Man roguelike.

P#148077 2024-05-07 19:59 ( Edited 2024-05-07 21:08)

Following, because I still haven't figured out a good workflow.

But since the best way to get an answer on the internet is to post a wrong answer, here's what I'm doing, which does the job but rather poorly:

I'm editing in vscode, and using git. I have my dev directory as a mount in my picotron config file. Then, I type the following in the Picotron editor:

cd("/dev")
include("main.lua")

Then I save it as /ram/cart/main.lua and run with ctrl-R. I have to re-type this every time I re-open Picotron. I tried saving this as a cartridge and running it by double-clicking it in the file manager, and it runs once, but it doesn't seem to load it into RAM - ctrl-R runs the default blank cartridge, and double-clicking the cartridge again opens a 2nd instance of my game.

I have my sprites saved as 0.gfx inside this directory, I'm loading them with this method, and I can edit them by opening my file in the sprite editor. But since this isn't loaded as the actual 0.gfx in RAM, I can't use it with the map.

It's not a great workflow, but I haven't figured out anything better yet - I feel like I must be missing something obvious here.

P#148099 2024-05-08 01:14 ( Edited 2024-05-08 02:17)