Follow
ScorchWare

I am a newbie gamedev who wonders around a lot. I hope to have fun here.

[ :: Read More :: ]

Cart #nap-3 | 2022-09-21 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

[UPDATE#3]
I found a better solution for the bullet issue thanks to an fellow anonymous gamedev. Turns out I did not need to use "poke" at all. So, yeah. Also, I hope to make this is the final update. Let me know how it goes though. For now, I need a break.

[UPDATE#2]
Realized how too easy this game is, so I changed these:

• Score system from by 10 to by 1
    This makes sure that the score doesn't overflow into the negative.

• How bullets behave:
    Bullets now won't appear as much. Also, bullets will now disappear after you hit enemy.

Happy shooting.

[UPDATE] Fixed bullet hitbox.

My first Pico-8 game that actually is cool. <3
An endless shmup where you shoot down enemies in the night sky and score points. How high can you go?

Controls are listed in game, but just in case...

• arrow keys = move your ship
  • z = confirm
  • x = shoot

Enjoy and have fun.

Thanks to @Krystman and @ztiromoritz for their shmup tutorials.
Special thanks to the Lazy Dev Academy and Pico-8 Discord servers for helping me make this possible. <3 <3

[EDIT] Nevermind, see [UPDATE#3] above.

P#117654 2022-09-19 17:02 ( Edited 2022-09-21 18:12)

Hey guys.

Yeah, I'm actually back again after 2 years or less...and I've been busy. Like super busy. I've had several projects, most of which aren't even related to Pico-8, but nevertheless hard work. Also, IRL has been a rollercoaster too, but I have little time to explain everything.

Anyway, I do have a Pico-8 shmup game in the work. I can't really post it here yet until I'm actually satisfied with it. I can give one thing though: I think I finally got the problem-solving part of programming down somewhat.