In a game that I'm working on, I tried to create some 'magic' for my game states by triggering a state change when a global variable is modified:

-- ditto for _update and _init
function _draw()
 cls()
 local action = {
  [0] = title_draw,
  [1] = menu_draw,
  [2] = marathon_draw,
  [3] = gameover_draw,
 }
 action[game_state]()
end

-- later, something changes game_state

What I ran into was what I assume to be scoping issues; variables were present in the game state that shouldn't be, or had stale values, etc. So I'll try to phrase my question in a way that might make sense: How do I cleanly separate game state from the API? I want to avoid massive _init, _update, and _draw functions if possible, so I'm able to focus on one game state at a time.

My apologies if this is a stupid question. I don't have a formal background in programming, so everything I know is self-taught and as a result I don't know the jargon to look for to find my answer.

Solution

The answer is called a "closure". See the below post by @freds72 and a test cart I made to prove it works.

Thanks to everyone who helped me out!

P#65070 2019-06-08 03:42 ( Edited 2019-06-10 01:40)

Think functions! A construct I use is something like that:

function make_title_state()
 — say title screen lives for 2s
 local ttl=60
 return {
   update=function(self)
     ttl-=1
     if ttl<0 then
      — example switch to another state
      return make_game_state()
     end
     return self
    end,
    draw=function()
    end
    }
end

— initial state
local state=make_title_state()
function _update()
  — update (and switch state)
 state=state:update()
end

function _draw()
 state:draw()
end

note how ttl can be used to maintain state (look for closure concept).
You can have many more variables captured this eay.

P#65074 2019-06-08 13:11 ( Edited 2019-06-09 14:51)