same as title, its trying to call player1 but isnt able to?
im relatively new to coding so idrk how to fix this

Can you post the code? It's hard to help without it.

apologies, i thought i uplaoded the png file?
heres the cart
edit: so far i have only done the "throw" part in the menu, thats where the error is

Cart #fudagonitu-0 | 2024-08-09 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | No License

1) You're calling init_game() after the 2 spr() calls. You'll want to move it before them.
2) In line 45, tab 6, you have typed "player" instead of "player1"

This stops it from erroring at least, but I'm not sure if there are any other bugs.

I'm new to programming and pico-8, but as i watched tutorials about gamestates...

the _init() is missing. You have a game_init(), that's not called, so player{} is never set.

Nice comments in your code, liked that on tab0.

ah no I can't take credit for that Zellente! I downloaded it from KQl1N, the comments are just there to help me.

Appreciate the help as always, Soupster! should be able to see if it works later.

@Zellente init_game() is called in _update(), but I'm not sure whether it's being called everu frame or not.

Ah Soupster, yes I did'nt see init_game() there (or same place in function throwgame tab1)

But is an init called more than once? And can you move the player,if you call init every frame, dosen't that reset your movement ? "btn(0) -= player1.x" ?

I have always trouble with global and local variables.

@ertifiedloaf I'm curious, what's this game when it's running. I wasn't brave engough to post an unfinished game with multiple map(x,y) and some ghostcollisions. Now I follow your game.

Hey Zellente, sorry for the late reply! The game is a project for my multimedia project at school, I'm aiming to make it similar to the minigames in Yoshi's Island!

No Problem uncertifiedloaf, I have a life too. Is there an update coming for this game?