Hello good people of the Picotron! First time posting. I apologize if I<m not posting in the right forum, but I<m a bit lost in the current layout of the site.

I'm a amateur programmer who never went too far qith this hobby, so I thought maybe something meant to be "easy" like Picotron could be a thing for me, the eternal wannabe game designer.

My question to day is about tables.

I can<t quite get them to work. I use simple one dimension arrays, but I need more of a Pascal-type of record, and when I read the Lua documentation, it seems to be possible, but my code doesn<t compile when I try to create tables with more than one dimension or different types of variable. It<s a syntax problem. I know what I want to do, but I can't find the right syntax.

For instance, in my RPG, there will be a party of six characters. So I need a table with at least a string column for the name of the character, a number column for the character sprite number, one column each for the chacter<s abilities. At the end of the day, there will be a lot of data in that table.

So, if anybody is kind and knowledeable enough to help me, a little crash course on tables would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot and please refer me to the right forum if I<m in the wrong place.

Hinou Profane

P#148026 2024-05-06 21:58

hello and welcome! I don’t know the pascal concepts you refer to, and can’t help with your lua code that doesn’t run (your message says «doesn’t compile») without seeing it!

this is a general guide to explain lua tables: https://www.lexaloffle.com/bbs/?tid=44686
they are key-value mappings that also work as sequences of things

this other guide goes more in depth on some aspects: https://www.lexaloffle.com/bbs/?tid=141946

P#148031 2024-05-06 23:52