Cart #dualgridgrasssprites-1 | 2024-09-05 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

This is my first attempt at using the dual grid system for world tiles, which is a way to save on the amount of tiles needed for tile blending. More is explained in this video (Not mine)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jEWFSv3ivTg

Use a mouse or touchscreen to change tiles between grass and dirt, the X button shows the world grid, and the O button shows the sprite grid (what the sprites actually look like)

Interesting approach, yet even if we "only" use 16 tiles, these tiles are 2x2 pico-8 tiles, so 64 tiles for the background, witch is 25% of the total available.
Since we're not using map() anyway to display the floor, we could reuse a single full green tile and maybe also use sprite horizontal and vertical flips to display the 16 big tiles with much less pico-8 tiles, and a little more tokens spent.

@RealShadowCaster They don't have to be 2×2, they can be 1 sprite. I used 2×2 for more detail. And you could rotate tiles if you don't mind the roundings looking exactly the same, which would mean you only need 5 sprites. I thought about that, but I don't actually know how to do it

Your 2x2 sprites are

0   2   4   6
32  34  36  38
64  66  68  78
96  98  100 102

16 sprites

If we use symmetries :

sprite 96 grass
36 dirt
2 sprites

98 0
64 102
Small island of grass
1 sprite

38 68
4 32
small island of earth
1 sprite

2 70
vertical band if grass

horizontal band of grass

These two could in theory use a single tile, but spr() only allows horizontal and vertical flips, not sprite rotation, so 2 sprites, unless we are willing to use tlines to rotate the sprite.

100 32 diagonal fills
These two could be horizontal or vertical flips, 1 tile regardless of chosen flip axis.