Cart #46910 | 2017-12-01 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

Hello!

This is my first experiment using pico-8, a basic water simulation that hopefully is simple enough to be used in other projects.

The two main things used to make this simulation is;
1) A vertical force applied to each point on the water surface, positive if the point is below "sea level" and negative if it is above the same point.
2) Diffusion of each point relating to its neighbours, which looks like this;

local diff = dampm * (
            pt(i+1) + pt(i-1)
            +pt(i+2) + pt(i-2)
            +pt(i+3) + pt(i-3)
            +pt(i+4) + pt(i-4)  ) *
            (-8*points[i])

points[i] -= diff*damp*dt

Where dt is time since the last frame, diff & damp are value multipliers and pt(n) being a function that returns the values from the points[] array, making sure none of them encounter any index errors.

Like I said, this is my first attempt at using pico-8, so if I've made any really silly mistakes, please do let me know as it's the only way I'll ever learn!

P#46725 2017-11-26 15:54 ( Edited 2017-12-09 01:56)

coooo-coooc---coooool!

P#46730 2017-11-26 18:30 ( Edited 2017-11-26 23:30)

Cool! You may want to adjust the logic so that checks are kept within the bounds of the water area; right now if you go off screen, the game will crash.

P#46911 2017-12-01 09:01 ( Edited 2017-12-01 14:01)

Super fun! I really like having the cannon as another way to interact with the water.

I made a couple of changes to the water dynamics to make it feel ... sloshier, I guess? I basically wanted to make it easier to have large traveling waves. The scale of waves vs. boat is maybe not so realistic now, though.

Also, this would probably feel better with wrap-around boundaries than the reflecting ones currently present.

Cart #46940 | 2017-12-02 | Code ▽ | Embed ▽ | License: CC4-BY-NC-SA

P#46941 2017-12-02 14:07 ( Edited 2017-12-02 19:07)